Church Leadership

Church Leadership

Our leadership teams consist of members of Hempfield UMC who have been called and have volunteered to serve in various capacities within the church leadership. You can get to know who represents our church on our leadership teams below.

HUMC has multiple teams that oversee all aspects of the ministry and management of the church and its staff. These teams include:

  • The Church Council
  • Staff/Parish Relations Team (SPRT)
  • Nominations
  • Trustees
  • Finance Committee

(Members and regular attendees of HUMC typically only need to connect with either Church Council or SPRT. There is a contact form at the bottom of this page so that you can message these two teams.)

Church Council

The church council oversees and plans for programs covering nurture, outreach, witness, and resources in the church. They also administer and organize church life, as well as envision, plan, implement, and evaluate the mission and ministry of the church. The church council prayerfully considers and weighs every decision as it impacts the day to day life and operation of the church. See the UMC Book of Discipline p.252 for more information.

The HUMC 2020 Church Council includes: 

  • Mike Vinson (Council Chair)
  • Randy Querry
  • Karlie Valle
  • Joe Ranck
  • Mike Lausch
  • Sue Ezard
  • Gina Acker
  • Jean Byerly
  • Judy Miller
  • Tom Clingan

Staff/Parish Relations Team (SPRT)

The Staff/Parish Relations Team (SPRT) reflects Biblically and theologically on the role and work of the pastors and staff as they carry out their leadership responsibilities. The team assists the pastors and staff in assessing their individual gifts, maintaining health holistically and work-life balance, and setting priorities for leadership and service. In more plain terms, SPRT manages and counsels the pastoral team and staff to help things run smoothly and help pastors and staff stay healthy and happy. See the UMC Book of Discipline p.258.2 for more information.

The HUMC 2020 SPRT includes: 

  • Sally Hambric (SPRT Chair)
  • Bill Brossman
  • Fran Sangrey
  • Tammy Kershner
  • Fran Miller
  • Mark Killian
  • Adam Schramm
  • Joan Tollinger
  • Ellie Sinclair

Leadership Contact Form

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.